Posted by: bikenfool | February 27, 2012

Hyannis Half

Good day for a run…
Yesterday was the Hyannis Half Marathon, the first race of an annual trilogy and my first race of the season. While my outdoor running has been a little cramped lately, I felt confident that the mileage was not going to be an issue. However, since I have not slowed down much this winter, I have not had a chance to rest up either so my goal was simply for sub 2 hours.

Windy-Day

The weather has been cooperating on a regular basis, yesterday proved to be no different. The morning started at 30 degrees with a stiff 25-30 mph wind, yikes, but at least it was sunny! Iron Chick and I decided to dress a little warmer to help offset the gusting wind all the while laughing about how nice the beach would be. Still, it was nice to be outside and even as cold as it was, the sun felt great!

hyannis-logo_large

Stop your bitchin and just run faster…
Maybe I should have just run faster or maybe it just seemed crowded? With 3000 + participants, we sure had lots of company. In any event, the race started at The Conference Center in Hyannis and due to the cold, the building was just over flowing with people.

Can you say “Mosh pit”?

Mosh

Lip service???
Arriving early, we settled into doing the obligatory bathroom rotation. You know, where you wait in line, go to the bathroom then wait in line, go to the bathroom then wait in line, well you get the point.

Lips_Urinals

After a few loops of the bathroom madness, we walked out to the start just as the gun went off, nice! If you have never run this race it really is a scenic course as it goes by Hyannis Harbor by Kalmus Beach, through Hyannis Port and then over to Craigville Beach before it begins to wind its way back to the starting point.

Hyannis Marathon

Steady Eddie…
With my favorite play list cranking through my headphones, I attempted to set pace. This was harder than I anticipated due to the crowds but by the time we were on the road to Craigville Beach, I felt settled in.

Hyannis Half 2012

The miles few by, as it seems a great play list will do that for you. Through out the run, I paced different people who help me make a B-line through slower traffic. All the while, I was expecting to be cold but I was actually comfortable. The wind seemed to be out of the north-west which was a plus based on the course direction. While I sure did feel the wind, I think it could have been worse.

In the end…
The last two miles felt great. I picked up the pace in a feeble attempt to make up lost time. Running into the finishing chute, there were hundreds of people cheering and talking pictures. As I crossed the finish I felt a good sense of accomplishment and a little melancholy that it was over.

Hyannis Half 2012 finish

I finished in 1:55 at an 8:49 pace. Certainly not my fastest 13 miles as that would have taken a 1:50 but I was just so pleased to be out in the fresh air, running and spending time with Iron Chick.

IMG_0182

Next up, the New York City Half in about two weeks!

On a sad note…
It just so happened that this weekend also coincided with selling my Cervelo P2c. I had been advertising it along with Iron Chick’s Cervelo S2 on Craig’s List when I received an email from a guy from Boston. Seems he was in the market for a new Tri-bike and as chance would have it, he was coming to town to run the Hyannis Half.

IMG_1081

I sure will miss that bike but it seems like it went to a great new home and I am sure the new owner will love it as much as I did.

Anyone looking for a nice Cervelo S2?

IMG_0342

Leave a Reply

Categories

