Posted by: bikenfool | February 5, 2012

Forgive me father for I have sinned…

Forgive me father for I have sinned, it has six months since my last blog! Yah, that’s a long time I know. Over last six month, I really felt drained of my creativity. Some how life got in the way of my blogging, go figure! Really it was work that got in the way and the fact that I was about to become the next victim of the economy. For three months, I put most of my focus on staying employed but thankfully this had no impact on my training.

forgiveme

I truly believe that you control all situations and that situations don’t control you. It’s all a matter of perspective. Don’t like how things are going? Make your mind up to change it.

minime

Committing to that change is no different that committing to that skinny 6” wide ramp that runs 10’ up top of the big rock. When you decide to do it, you have to be totally committed or pay the price. In many ways life is no different. It may seem like things are out of your control but if you have the vision and the commitment, anything is possible. Now don’t get me wrong, I ‘m not saying this is easy, cuz it’s not, but the freedom it gives you is priceless!

GOPR1922

Speaking of committed, I am fortunate enough to be married to Iron Chick, whose never wavering commitment serves as beacon for me. She constantly impresses me and shows me how anything is possible. She is very inspirational and certainly motivational, which has helped me keep training right through the tough times. Actually, the training has served both as a stress reliever and a way to actually charge my batteries while creating the vision of how I want my life to go.

Visualize

Over the last six months, I have been lucky enough to be able to run 3-4 times a week and bike 1-3 times a week. Helped by the mild New England winter, I have only been on the treadmill and Cyclops trainer less than a 1/2 dozen times. Outdoors has been the name of the game. Running has become easier, with my typical run being 6 miles in the 8’s and 10+ miles on weekends. Long road rides stopped back in early November as Mountain Biking picked up but never the less, I have been able to ride pretty much every week.

I was very please with how training went for 2011. I finished the year at an all time high for biking and running as well as probably the best fitness I have had over 15 years. Here’s a review of my Stats fro 2011:

Activity Type Count Distance Time Elevation Gain Avg Speed Calories
Running 93 596.58 92:13:50 12,243 6.5 72,001
Road Cycling 78 1,814.69 109:18:08 47,369 16.6 132,118
Indoor Cycling 43 489.22 38:08:44 691 12.8 27,315
Mountain Biking 27 327.82 47:36:01 22,285 7 31,854
Treadmill Running 13 43 7:06:40 6 4,075
Cyclocross 5 90.65 8:35:32 1,480 10.6 7,300
Summary 259   3,361.96    302:58:56    84,067 11.1 274,663

2012 will undoubtedly be just as busy. I hope to cycle just as much as last year and with any luck, maybe more. Additionally, I’m planning on continuing to run, with the following on the docket for this year; the Hyannis Half, NYC Half, Rucus Boston 2012, Johnny Kelly Half, Falmouth Road Race and Cranberry Half.

capecodtrilogy-logo       NYC1-2
   rucus      NB-Falmouth-Road-Race-Logo

I am certainly glad to be done with 2011 from a work perspective but from a fitness perspective, this was one of the best years I ever had. Having Iron Chick training for Iron Man Lake Placid was a big help as it pushed me to keep pace with her running and biking. I look forward to 2012 to hone my fitness further and push my self harder. So far, so go!

Here are a few of my favorite photos from 2011:

Leave a Reply

Categories

