Posted by: bikenfool | February 25, 2011

Out & about, Tubeless tires, Life Cycles

When will it all end?
Not being able to get outside and mountain bike is making me cranky. Looks like rain Friday with a nice but cold day in store for Saturday. My plan is to hit the trails in Yarmouth where there is generally no snow left. I recruited Tim “The Man” to join me in this mid winter adventure. It’s been a year since we have ridden Yarmouth so it should be fun.

Tim "The Man"

Tim "The Man"

Going Tubeless…
I finally got around to replacing the gashed rear tire on the Enduro. I elected to go with Continental Mountain King 2 protection tires featuring Duraskin and Black Chili compound.

These are reasonably light weight tubeless ready tires weighing in at about 680 grams on my park scale for 26 X 2.2. They are replacing Kenda Kinetic Tubeless weighing in at 860 grams. I was not running tubeless with the Kenda’s and will now be saving the weight of tubes as well. These changes will net a decent weight savings coming in at almost 350 grams ( about 3/4 lb.) total.

Continental Mountain king

Continental Mountain king

At least I was warm…
With the snow is crimping my mountain biking, I was looking for a replacement fix and recently had the opportunity to watch the mountain bike movie “Life Cycles”.  This is an exceptionally well produced movie that is very cinematic. Telling the story of birth and death of bicycles through beautifully choreographed camera angles and scenery.

Life Cycles

Life Cycles

The producers use time laps techniques to show change of seasons and the passage of time in a very unique and effective way. I found my jaw hanging open a lot and my heart racing as I drooled over the riding spots showcased.

Life Cycles

Life Cycles

The movie features the like of Mike Hopkins, Cam McCaul Brandon Semenuk, Gram Gassiz, Matt Hunter, Riley McIntosh, Evan Schwartz and Thomas Vanderham doing what they do best which can only be described as awe inspiring. 

Life Cycles

Life Cycles

Shot at diverse locations around the world the producers do an amazing job of expressing the freedom of mountain biking and the connection between the bike, the rider and the earth. The cinematic time lapsed footage at Whistler made me yearn to hit the trail ASAP. Of course if I tried to ride like these guys, I am sure I would literally “Hit The Trail”!

Life Cycles

Life Cycles

I downloaded the movie from iTunes but it is available through many locations. My only complaint is at 47 minutes, it almost feels too short but is a movie that should be owned by every mountain biker.

Leave a Reply

Categories

