Posted by: bikenfool | November 8, 2010

Placebo, Daylight Savings and A Bright Outlook?

A Placebo Affect?
During the summer months, I trained pretty hard riding 4 to 6 days a week. Diet obviously plays a big role in being able to do this but along with eating carefully, I used dietary supplements like FRS, Recoverite and Clif Bloks to help keep me moving.

frs-drinks

As the winter approaches, the frequency and intensity of workouts tend to drop off a little, I actually stopped taking FRS at the beginning of September. I immediately felt a difference. Maybe it’s a placebo affect but my energy reserves felt different than when I was taking FRS.

GOPR1622

PICT0213

If I’m using FRS and in high stress situations, it feels like when I dig deep for more oomph, my legs can answer the call instantly. When not taking FRS, my legs react but I feel like there is a limit to how hard or long I can go. You know the feeling when your about to run out of steam? I am still able to accomplish my goal but it feels harder. It’s all about watts generated and for how long. This is different than cardio. Maybe it’s in my head but I feel a difference. I just started taking FRS again and swear I’m seeing a difference!

GOPR1147

GOPR1522

Daylight Saving Time is gone…
Well it happened this weekend, Daylight Savings Time ended and with it any hope of outdoor activity during the week. Sunset is now about 4:30pm, ugh, that’s seriously depressing. As well as loosing daylight, it sure is getting colder so I’m trying to get in road rides when I can.

IMG_0738

IMG_0744 (2)

IMG_0769

I managed one road ride during this past week but elected to hit the basement trainer Saturday after spending 3 hours doing yard work in cloudy, windy and cold temps. Salvaging the weekend, I managed to squeak in a smoking ride at TOT just before the rain started on Sunday.

IMG_0229b

Wheelie

It’s all good though…
Despite my incessant whining, I actually do like the winter or should I say the holiday season as it means a little more free time with family. It also means time to rest up for what I am sure will prove to be the toughest season yet!

winter 2010-2

Leave a Reply

Categories

