Posted by: bikenfool | July 17, 2010

Lots going on…

Time warp…
As I sit here on the back deck finally getting a chance to catch up on things, it hits me that it’s almost the end of July! So far, great weather has made for lots of cycling but admittedly, I am once again favoring the road over mountain biking as summer is in full swing. This is certainly not uncommon for me as hotter temperatures combined with thick underbrush and the real threat of ticks makes the road just seems like a better idea. None-the-less, I do miss the trails and the adrenaline produced by carving through handlebar width trees at blinding speeds.

Flying...

Making me look like a slacker…
Iron Chick is fully engulfed in the race season having completed multiple events including sprints, half marathons and two half Iron Man races.  

Craigville Sprint:

Iron Chick heading out...

The run...

Post Race...

Patriot Half…
Trying to be a good Sherpa, I attended the Patriot Half Iron Man which takes place in Lakeville Massachusetts. The venue is set in a rural area nestled between a series of lakes, hence the name of the town “Lakeville. Race day was nice but seriously hot at 90+ degrees. Yikes! I helped Iron Chick get set-up and hung out with her until the swim start.

Poor little thing...

Calm before the storm...

And they're off...

She is strong in the swim and made great time, getting out on the bike by 8:00am. This did help get a jump on the sweltering heat.

Bike out...

Bike out...

Bike in...

Iron Chick’s bike is also strong and she made good time on the two loop course. I had brought the Orbea so I decided to ride the bike course in reverse. This is an interesting way to see the race and there were a few others doing the same thing.

Bike course...

Bike course...

Temps hit the 90’s quickly and thought of running 13.3 miles in that heat was hard for me to imagine but non the lest there goes Iron Chick smiling as she tries to keep her sneakers from melting to the pavement.

Run out...

Hanging out with Dunkin Donuts coffee in the shade, I relaxed as the end of the race neared. Over all Iron Chick finished in about 6.20+ hours having lost about 16-20 minutes on the run due to heat but a great effort none the less!

The finish...

The Finish...

Cape Cod Cycling Club…
As Iron Chick has been doing group rides with the Cape Cod Cycling Club for the last few months, she convinced me that I should join her. Forcing myself to leave work at 5:00pm is tough, the first day I was going to ride I had a meeting that ran long so I missed the warm up on a time-trial, catching up with the group as they were just getting set up to start runs.

Cervelo and me...

It was pretty cool to be doing a time-trail and the competition certainly makes you go harder than just riding on your own. Of course doing a time-trial on an open road is a little challenging but the course is decent. The 6.70 mile loop starts at Four Corners in Centerville (by Four Seas Ice Cream) running through Osterville Center and back.

C4 - Time-trial

The start is slightly downhill which quickly gives way to a gradual but tiered climb on the way to Main Street in Osterville. Provided you avoid pedestrians and the occasional car door opening, Main Street levels out and you can get a good  pace going. Shaving a little speed as you make the right on Pond Street, you are greated with a slight down hill as Pond Street mergers with Bumps River Road. The terrain begins to flow up and down as you work your way toward the final leg of the run.  Trying to make up time on a flat area, I almost missed the sharp right Bay Lane, sliding into the corner like Subaru at a Drifting Contest. I am glad there was no car in the other lane as I used the whole road to make the corner! Bay Lanes winds it way through woods with one decent hill near the finish line. Long enough to be challenging but short enough to go all out. I finish with a time of 17:52 at 22.75 mph, I came in 5th out of 10 riders.  Defiantly lots of fun.

C4 Time-trial Group...

Thursday C4 Group Ride…
Thursday found me on the regular group ride that leaves from Veterans Beach in Hyannis. I joined the B Group riding at around 19mph for 25 miles. Group rides take some getting used to as you really have to ride carefully and work together. Lose your focus for a second and you could have issues. Unfortunately that exactly what happened as our group turned on to Craigville Beach Rd from Four Corners and two riders caught handlebars going down at about 15mph.

Road Rash...

Yeh, that hurt…
But what hurt more than the bruises and lost skin was the Specialized Carbon S-Works that broke in half. Only a few weeks old, the frame will now be relegated to “Wall Art” I presume. Thank god neither rider was seriously hurt (save egos).

The damage is done...

Leave a Reply

Categories

