Posted by: bikenfool | June 2, 2010

Memorial Day Weekend…

Early to bed, early to rise
Makes the Bikenfool feisty, just kidding. Actually, I really enjoyed getting up at O-dark-thirty with Iron Chick today and heading down to Craigville Beach for what now is becoming a ritual with her and her friends, the Saturday morning sprint. Unlike most rituals which involve a hood, knife and sacrificing small animals, this ritual involves fresh air, sunshine and today, five girls. Pretty cool.

Up early...

Lots of credit…
I am not afraid to admit that I swim about as well as a Panda bear, so I went along just for the cycling but the girls all donned wetsuits and jumped in the cold and choppy water.

Getting Ready...

Yeh, I give them lots of credit. Too cold for me, besides you know how guys get with cold water! Any way, while they were swimming, I rode around down to Hyannisport and cruised its sleepy streets. The morning was beautiful, albeit slightly chilly and windy at 7:15am. I covered the quaint and quite streets riding by the Outer Harbor, the Kennedy Compound and up to the Hyannisport Golf Club. The Club is perched on a hill overlooking the ocean. Damn, what a view.

Hyannisport Golf Club...

Passing a police cruiser on the way out, I get the hairy eyeball look from the officer and I begin to think he is either gonna give me a ticket for speeding or arrest me for being dumb enough to ride to close to a new 250k Bentley GT parked on the side of the road. Luckily neither happened as he must have felt sorry for me when I could un-clip and fell over at the stop sign.

The Hairy Eyeball...

Odd man out…
Beating feet back to Craigville, I caught up with the girls as they were ready to head out on their bikes. Our route would take us through Centerville to Osterville and back.

To Craigville Beach...

Traffic was light and the ride was nice. The temperature went up as the morning progressed and our route moved away from the ocean front. Osterville was center was busy so we took back roads by the Osterville Golf Club.

Osterville...

The ride back to Craigville Beach was great. Traffic was heavier but most drivers were courteous. On one of the hills between Osterville and Centerville, Iron chick and I raced, topping 35mph. Nice!

The Crew...

Back at the beach, the girls prepared to go running while I took off to ride more miles through Centerville and ultimately find my morning coffee. It was great to spend time with my wife and meet her friends.

The Great Hyannis Races...

Preparing…
Sunday offers up a running event called The Great Hyannis Road Races which offers three different races in one; a 5k, 7.2 and a half marathon. Iron Chick and her little sister are both running the half and some how I got roped into running the 5k with my 9 year old niece. Now what you have to understand is I am not a runner and the thought of being beaten badly by a 9 year old is tough to take. Maybe they have an old duffer age group that I can just blend into? Regardless, it should be a blast and I can’t wait.

Mizuno Wave Inspire 5

Not for anything but it’s been about 6 years since I bought my last pair of new sneakers. Back then, my buddy Scott and I used to run 2 to 3 days a week but some how I stopped and started biking instead. Looking at my old New Balance sneakers, I couldn’t help but feel new sneakers were in order. Iron Chick and I were in Hyannis to pick up the race numbers for sunday so I stopped by Hanlon’s Shoes and picked up a set of Izuno Waze Inspire 5’s. Wow these are pretty comfortable and make my old sneakers feel like cinder blocks. Maybe I have a chance to keep up with Jordan? Nah…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Categories

