Posted by: bikenfool | April 16, 2010

What Month Is It?

Whirl wind of activity…
Well time is really flying by. With the blink of an eye, January seemed to turn into April and in true fashion spring has arrived on Cape Cod. Also arriving is a much needed splash of color to an otherwise grey palette. Boy do I miss seeing the leaves on the trees. Spring also brings lots of yard work, so I have been trying to cycle as much as possible before my weekend days are filled with manual labor.

Orbea & Me

Unusually warm weather has provided some great opportunities to get out and enjoy the road. I  had a chance to do a thirty miler with Tim and doing so in summer attire no less. I still haven’t put the Cervelo P2C into action but the Orbea Orca has certainly been stretching its legs. There’s nothing like a fast paced road ride to clear your head at the end of a hard work day and with it brighter longer I am running out of excuses not to get out there.

Tim The Man...

The fun has not been limited to just the road. On the mountain bike side of things, I have hit Trail of Tears numerous times including being able to enjoy a few after work rides. I had been riding the S-Works Enduro mostly, looking to improve my free ride skills especially on drops. As I get use to pushing that weight around, I am enjoying a performance boost on the Stumpy. It’s getting hard to decide which bike to ride…

Wahoo....

Smooth...

MacGyver at large…
Easter Sunday found Frank and tearing it up at Trail of Tears. We were doing the outer ring backwards at a pretty good clip. The day was sunny and nice, the birds were chirping and then it happened. “BANG!” As the Town of Barnstable’s Shooting Range was close, I ducked for cover. Feeling something weird on my leg, I looked down to see green slime all over. It looked like some shot E.T.. As the ass end of the bike started to slide I realized I had a major blow out. Assessing the situation was easy as there was a quarter size hole in the side wall oozing bright green “Slime Lite” gu. Flash back to the “Valve Stem Incident” of 2009, when I had to hoof it 6 miles. Ugh …

Ugh...

Frank and I assessed the situation and it rapidly became clear that a patch kit just wasn’t going to cut it. Being about 4 miles from the Jeep I need a solution and after thinking for a minute, I pulled a MacGyver. Digging into my trusty hydration pack, I pull out two zip ties. Racing against the clock as impending doom  close in (well maybe not impending doom but Franks wife wanted him back by 3:00pm), I secured one zip tie on either side of the hole.

MacGyver at work...

Mean while Frank is just shaking his head in disbelief. “What the hell are you doing?” he asked as I pulled each zip tie as tight as I could get on the tube. “I’m isolating the hole from the good part of the tube, them I’m going to put the tube back in the tire, fill it with air and we are riding out of this mess.” Still not sure what to make of my madness Frank assisted in the rest of the process.

Fixing it up...

A few minutes later we were riding down the trail. As the tire still had a rather large hole in it, so we elected to take fire roads back to the parking lot. As luck would have it, the tube held and MacGyver saved the day! This trick will work for road or mountain tube issues. Very cool trick that saved me from another long hike. Frank’s now calling me MacGyvernfool verses Bikenfool…

Back on the trail...

This past weekend, Tim and I rode Otis. Tim’s Rocky Mountain Element was in the shop for rear shock work so he rode the S-Works Stumpjumper and I road the S-Works Enduro.

Tearing it up...

We meandered all over Otis and had a blast. Tim was jamming on the Stumpy making short work of most hard areas even making short work of the “Five Tiered Hill”. This hill is usually Tim’s nemesis but not today.

What rocks...

Rocks? What rocks?

Tim making it look easy...

The trails had recovered a little from the dirt bikes tearing them up a few weeks back and we made use of them carving out 10+ miles at a respectable pace. In general, the trails at Otis seem to be used less than those at TOT so there tends to be more loose surfaces and debris on them but that’s what makes them so much fun. It helps that the loops we have strung together are fantastic featuring lots of obstacles, fast section, touch climbs and plenty of twists and turns.

Did I say I love this stuff!

Leave a Reply

Categories

