Posted by: bikenfool | February 21, 2010

Expanding my knowledge

Build outs…
Over the last few months, I have been working to expand my knowledge on servicing bicycles. This has included a range of basic tasks like changing tubes, tires (even tubulars), repairing a chain, adjusting rakes and replacing brake pads. Over time I have moved on to more involved areas like, wheel bearing/freewheels and cable replacement (challenging when they are threaded in a road frame). Just recently I built my first frame up and got to install everything from the forks to cranks to derailleur’s and cables. While I am not venturing into shock or fork rebuilding, everything else is fair game. 

Cervelo S2 built-up

Upgrading…
The Specialized S-Works Enduro that I recently purchased was a frame up build by its former owner who had chosen very basic components. The purchase price on the S-Works was very reasonable and left plenty of room for upgrades. So over the last few months I have been searching EBay for various deals. I decide to go with more of a free ride build and after a little research, I choose Shimano Saint Components. 

Enduro S-Works built-up

Weight whinnies beware…
The Saint component group is well know for being super tough and durable enough to take almost anything you can throw at it. While not the lightest components, they’re not the heaviest either. I was looking to replace the crank, shifters and rear derailleur. The crank set is the biggest weight variable. The Enduro came with an entry level set of RaceFace Ride XC cranks. They weighed in at just a hair under 1000grams. As a comparison, the Saint M-820-2 two ring setup with a bash guard and 170mm arms, weighs in at about 1050grams. Not too much of a difference between the two but when weighed against a triple ring XTR set coming in at 770grams, equates to a little over half a pound. Yikes! 

Saint M-810 Crankset

While overall weight is a concern, my goal is create a setup that will take a beating but not be a candidate for the next season of The Biggest Loser. A medium sized 2008 Specialized S-Works Enduro, in standard trim, would weigh in around 27 pounds. That’s seriously light for a bike in this class. Weighing the one I bought, it came in at almost 29 pounds (all weights without pedals). Here are some stats on the parts switched out:  

Old wt.

Item

New Wt.

Stock Wt.

995

Crank

1090

770

208

Derailleur

250

170

252

Shifters

237

210

106

Rear Disc

146

146

1561

Grams

1723

1296

 

 

 

 

28.9

Full Wt. (lb)

29.25

27.23

Parting is such sweet sorrow, not…
I found all new Saint Components for very a reasonable cost on EBay. When the dust settled on my wallet, I spent about 60% of retail for the items and of course had the pleasure of installing them myself.  This still put my total dollars into the bike at less than the average going rate of a used S-Works Enduro.

While the weight is more than I would like, it is still less than 30 pounds. The way I look at it, it will motivate me to loose 3 pound to make up the difference. Besides if I want light, I’ll take the S-Works Stumpy which weighs in at a little over 23 pounds.

Staint Shifters and Jagwire cable guides

Not cooperative…
So the Enduro is pretty much ready to go but the weather is not cooperating. Clean ground gave way to four inches of snowy mess recently and as I look outside from my perch on the trainer, I wonder why the hell I live in this climate. I’m just not a winter person. Actually, I don’t mind the cold so long as there is no snow. Rain is predicted for Tuesday; maybe it will wash away my blues…  

Leave a Reply

Categories

