Posted by: bikenfool | January 18, 2010

By-gones…

In the rear view mirror…
It is hard to believe that the holidays have come and gone. The month of December was a blur to me. For that matter, the whole year really felt like it flew by. All in all, I can’t say that I am sorry to see 2009 go. In many ways this was one of the most challenging and stressful years of my life. Yet, by the same token, 2009 was the year of health, fitness and outdoor activity. Good thing it was or I might be pushing daisies.     

Moab...

On the road...

Recap…
In 2009 I was able to ride about 130 days covering over 2000 miles and burning over 190,000 calories. Interestingly enough, about 56% of my rides were mountain biking, 33% road cycling and 25% stuck on an indoor trainer. Compared to 2008 stats, it was pretty close.
   

Flying along

In 2009 there were lots of great rides and I certainly expanded my road cycling with lots of long rides and hill work. The high light for the year was riding  Slick Rock in Moab Utah, seriously cool! Other memorable rides included Lake Winnipesaukee area in New Hampshire and a tour of Martha’s Vineyard.     

It's All A Blur To Me...

2009 saw lots of bikes pass through the Bikenfool’s garage. Out going bikes included a Specialized Transition Pro and a Trek Equinox. In coming were Specialized S-Works Enduro and Orbea Orca, wow! I learned a lot about bike maintenance including installing tubular tires, forks, shifter, derailleurs, cables, wheel bearings and rear cassettes. About the only thing I have not done is install a crank set and bleed hydraulic breaks.       

Rampin it..Chasing TimCool runnings...

 Looking Forward…
I am looking forward to lots of riding in 2010. I hope to do The Kindom Trails, various areas around the North East and with another conference in Utah this September, you know Moab is on the list again.  Iron Chick is already setting her race schedule and as the good Sherpa, I will be going along for moral support and of course some fun. Two months until things start looking better with longer days and warmer weather, I can’t wait. Until then I guess I am stuck in the basement.
   

New ramps...

Epic over bridge...

Yeh, that's a lot of snow...

The basement set-up...

Leave a Reply

Categories

