Posted by: bikenfool | December 13, 2009

Drugs, Booze, or The Best Wife???

One more for the road…
Just like an alcoholic looking for another drink, I have been searching around for another bike. A Specialized S-Works Enduro, that would complete the set of Specialized bikes I have been collecting. Yeh, I know, I’m on durgs or was it the booze, maybe the frying pan to the head did it, anyway, last week I tripped across a pretty good deal on one. It was a frame up build that had many basic components so the price was very reasonable and cheap enough that I could upgrade components as I see fit. 

S-Works Enduro

S-Works Enduro

The bike arrived last week and Friday night found me going over it with a fine tooth comb. I checked every nut and bolt then set the suspension setting to my spec. Rear shock at 145psi with rebound and compression set to neutral (exactly half way from full). Additionally I repositioned the shock to the high shock position on the frame, Next, I set the forks to 85psi and once again set the rebound and compression set to neutral. Finally, I checked the wheel bears and reset the brake drag. Should be good to go… 

Out and about Breaking the ice…
The cold temperatures have finally set in. the last few days have been below freezing with 30-50 mph winds. Not the best mountain biking weather but so long as there is no snow on the ground, I’ll take what I can get. When I was at the bike shop the other day there was a guy in front of me at the counter and he was  saying how once it got into the 30’s it was too cold for him to ride. I am behind him thinking, 30’s, that a frakin heat wave! 

 

Iron Chick- Mountain Biker???

Cold Day...

Good sport…
This was the first Saturday in a while that Iron Chick wasn’t training or racing. So with some gentle prodding, I talked her into going mountain biking with me. I figured an easy ride at Trail of Tears would be a good way to get acclimated to the new bike and Iron Chick acclimated to mountain biking. So we loaded up the Enduro and the Epic and we headed off.  

Iron Chick jambin...

Iron Chick jammin...

Testing the new suspension

Now you have to understand that Iron Chick has only ridden a mountain bike once before, so I give her a lot of credit for deciding to go with me. It was a beautifully sunny day but pretty cold at a high of 29 degrees burrrr. Thank god for great technical clothing as we were nice and comfy even with strong winds. 

Trailing...

Wheelie...

 We rode the Fast Loop at TOT as I figured that would be an easier route. Not so much, as it turns out. Iron Chick did great but was not liking the rocky areas. Who knew that such that such a cute little thing could have a mouth like a sailor? I explained to her that much like when tells me that yelling at the TV will not get Tom Brady to throw the ball, yelling at the rocks will not smooth the trail.

After all…
 Iron Chick finished the ride with the only casualty being a dented peddle. After swearing that I wasn’t trying to kill her and collect on the life insurance, Iron Chick admitted that she had fun but still hates rocks!

 

Good job baby...

Day of rest…not…
Sunday was about riding Otis. The temperature was up 20 degrees from yesterday hitting 50, so it was great riding and there were lots of people out enjoying the day as well. Riding the usual loop, I hit lots of rocks and jumps to get used to handling the bike. I did notice the extra weight as the Enduro is tips the scale at just 29lb in it’s current configuration verse the Stumpjumper at just a hair over 23lb. By all respects, the Enduro is a feather weight for a six inch travel bike.

On the road agian...

On the trails...

Despite the extra weight, the bike feels surprisingly nimble. Handling is spot on and holding the line on a rough section is child’s play. I made it up all the usual hills albeit huffing and puffing more than usual. Traction is good but I need just a little more time to get my body position just right to ensure optimum climbing. Flipping the travel limiter is generally easy and helps with the center of gravity.

Happy trails...

Bar view...

All-in-all…
It was a great weekend with two great rides, one with Iron Chick no less and the new bike is lots of fun. What more could one ask for? Oh yeh, how about fifteen years married to the best wife ever, that happened this weekend too!

Responses

  1. hi, i really enjoyed the video, especially the rockin’ track that accompanied it. the group is lunatic fringe? may i know the title of the tune please? i would like to download it from itunes but could not find it.

    • Hi- Thanks for the comments.
      My bad, I switched the music at the last minute so the song is actually called “Come Out And Play” by The Off Spring.

  2. Thanks! Keep up the great work!


Leave a Reply

Categories

