Posted by: bikenfool | December 8, 2009

All In A Days Work…

You did what?
In another life, a long time ago, during my travels around the world, I spent a period of time with an obscure Navajo tribe in the depths of Arizona. While there, I was schooled in the ancient ways of communicating with the earth.

Chief Backasswards...

Chief Backasswards...

Once, while in a trance induced by Twinkies and some weird kind of mushrooms, the local chief taught me how to control the weather. It was after this knowledge was passed that I earned the name “Backasswards” for my unique ability to make it sunny during a rain dance. Ok, so I’m a little off, but it works.  

Better than shrooms...

Shrooms have nothing on these babies...

Tempest Fugit…
Fast forward to last night, Iron Chick and I stare at the weather forecaster babbling about 2-4 inched of snow. “No, no, no, we are not ready for this yet.” I say. Then it happened. Like an alter boys repressed memories the knowledge of my Navajo teachings came pouring back. I look at Iron Chick and asked “You don’t really want to race in the snow tomorrow do you?” to which she replied “No but it looks like I have to…”. It was then, I shared my past with her in a moment she will not soon forget!

High Test...

“I haven’t done this in a while but if you help me recreate the environment I can make it sunny and dry for tomorrow.” Grudgingly she obliges me. “Ok what do we do?” she asks as we make our way to the kitchen. “Find me alcohol, the highest proof we have, a pair of your oldest running shoes and a frying pan!” I yelled as she stops to ponder my requests. “My old running shoes, really? She asks with a puzzled look. “Don’t question the old ways.” I snapped back.

Yeh, that bad...

Forty minutes later, I sit up off the living room floor bewildered, an empty bottle of 151 at my feet, the stinkiest sneaker ever in my hand and a big lump on my head. “What happened?” I ask rubbing my head and tossing the sneaker as faraway from me as possible. “Well, after you chugged the 151, you took five deep breaths with that toxic sneaker up to your face. Then you began running around the living room like a madman chanting what sounded like a verse from a Robbie Robertson song, so I hit you in the head with the frying pan. Was that wrong of me to do?” she asks with an evil snicker. “No, no, that was exactly what the pan was for. I’m sure the gods have heard my plea. If only there was a sign…” Just then the power went out. Staring into the darkness I say “See, the gods have answered me.” Laughing Iron Chick answers “Yeh, your right, there’s no way it’s the storm raging our side…”

Just a love tap...

I still have it…
Drawing the bedroom drapes back, the suns rays have the same effect on me as they would on a vampire. I stagger backward, bumping the bed. “What’s wrong, hung over” Iron Chick mumbles putting a pillow over her head. “Mock me all you want, it’s sunny and there’s no snow!” I reply as I hobble off to begin the day.

Sun is a must...

The Backasswards Majic...

Thank me later…
With no snow for us on the Cape, Iron Chick headed off to run a local road race while I loaded up the Jeep to head for Otis. Earlier this week, I had picked up the S-Works Stumpy from the shop. With freshly rebuilt forks and a general tune-up it was time to test it out.

Back in business...

Heading out, the temps were hovering in the mid thirties so dressing warm was a must. This was actually the first ride of the season that I can say it was actually cold. It took about three miles until to get my lungs to adjust but once they did I was good to go.

Movin...

The S-Works performed great and I seemed to have it generally dialed in. I did notice the overall performance difference especially after minor jumps, as the landings were smoother than before. In general, the ride is much plusher than the Epic’s and certainly makes covering rougher ground much easier and in better control.

Exploring...

Most hills were not an issue as I wound my way around the Outer Loop at Otis. I still can’t believe I can make it up this one crazy hill that a few years back seemed impossible on the Slayer 50. This time around was no different as the rock garden approach was easily conquered and the hill itself was made with some physical effort but no worries.

Wind Turbine is the new landmark...

After salvaging the weekend with a good ride, I am kicking back enjoying the fruits of may labor and yes icing my head from the frying pan.

Leave a Reply

Categories

