Posted by: bikenfool | November 29, 2009

S-Works Fork Issues and Epic Rides

Thanks…
It’s hard to believe that it is Thanksgiving. It’s been a pretty good November. Temperatures have been warmer and there has been a moderate amount of sunshine. I am gearing up for colder weather but will take 50 degrees as long as I can get it.

I’ll never complain again…
Ok, I thought this picture was just wild. I can’t even imagine being chased by an elephant. I thought a Pheasant was bad…

And I thought being chased by a Pheasant was bad...

And I thought being chased by a Pheasant was bad...

Down but not out…
I finally took the S-Works Stumpjumper in to have the forks serviced. The local shop said they were really hammered. Thank god Specialized has a five year warrantee on them so the damage to my wallet will be minimal. With the Stumpy in the shop for over two weeks now, I have been riding the Epic. It always takes me a few rides to get used to it. Initially, I really felt the weight difference but that faded fast. Additionally, overall body position needs to be different on the Epic to maintain traction on hills. Until I got used to it agian, some of the usual climbs were challenging. But it wasn’t long before I felt right at home and was tearing up the trails and making all the hills.

Epic Rockin it...

Epic Rockin it...

Epic over bridge...

Beautiful day in the neighborhood…
Since the Stumpy went on vacation, I have been out mountain biking five times. Today was an absolutely gorgeous day with bright sunshine and 50 degree temps. Frank and I headed over to Otis to cut up the trails. Lots of other people were out riding as well. We met a couple of other groups of riders one from New Hampshire and the other from Connecticut.

Frank & The Salsa...

Frank & The Salsa...

Epic & me...

Heavens Gate…
One of the guys from Connecticut road a pretty tough section at Heavens Gate; I was very impressed. God knows I am too much of a pansy to try it for fear of breaking something and I am not talking about the bike.

Nice job...

We rode an alternate loop and covered about 9 miles of flowing trails. It felt great to be out and even better to burn off Thanksgiving dinner. 

Exit Ramp...

Exit Ramp...

With any luck the S-works will be back this week, but with the rides I’ve been having on the Epic, I hardly miss it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

