Posted by: bikenfool | October 12, 2009

Fall, Kona and Lots of Cycling

Enjoying the fall…
I have resigned myself to the fact that fall is here once again despite my best efforts to keep it from happening. With the Orbea on the Cyclops trainer, I have been able to get two to three trainings in per week now. It’s not as good as being outside but I’ll take what I can get. 

The basement set-up...

The basement set-up...

Beating the clock…
The sun sets at about 6:00pm now so to ride during the week requires leaving work around 4:00pm. This past Wednesday, I was scrambling to get in a full ride but still managed to enjoy myself. The Popple Bottom parking area of Trail of Tears is o-so-convenient and has been my starting point for many late afternoon rides. The S-Works has been riding great even with the mysterious fork issue. Smooth and fast over even the roughest sections. Man I love that bike, however, I guess I need to suck-it-up and get the fork serviced.

Rock Ride...

Rock Ride...

Saturday found me out for a long ride at Trail of Tears. The last five times out the trails have been pretty wet and this time was no different. I parked in the main lot and road the fast loop, to the outer loop, to Otis Atwood and back. It was pretty uneventful as I did not get chased by any Pheasants. The ride was smooth and flowing covering about 13+ miles.

Passing by...

Passing by...

Sunday was a reasonable day so I dug the P2C out for a ride. Covering about 17 miles, I cruised around Cotuit and Mashpee. It was quite windy but fun non-the-less. As I have been mountain biking a lot, the road bike felt so smooth and efficient. While I was roaming the country side Iron Chick was out for a 15+ mile run. Three weeks to the Cape Cod Marathon!

In front of Willow Bend Golf Club...

In front of Willow Bend Golf Club...

On another note, this weekend was Kona, the holy grail of Iron Man events. Iron Chick was pinned to the computer watching live streaming video. The usual suspects were there so the competition proved to be heated. We watched in awe as the competitors ground it out through a 2.4 mile swim followed by a 112 mile bike and a 26.2 mile run. Yeh, I know what your thinking, they’re crazy.  In the end Craig Alexander won the men’s division and Chrissie Wellington won the woman’s.

Swim Start Ironman Kona

Swim Start Ironman Kona

I think Iron Chick could do that some day if she wanted to. I would certainly support her any way I could.

Finishing it up…
Although I had to work Monday morning, I was able to meet Frank in the afternoon for a ride at Otis. We had a great time jamming around the usual loop and conquering lots of rocks. Frank had recently built a new Salsa 29er with which he proceeded to tear up the trails with. Very cool Bike. What a great fall day. Here are some shots… 

Frank, King of the hill...

Frank, King of the hill...

Chasing Frank...

Chasing Frank...

Rock Garden...

Rock Garden...

Follow-the leader...

Follow-the leader...

The Salsa...

The Salsa...

The Salsa...

The Salsa...

Leave a Reply

Categories

