Posted by: bikenfool | October 4, 2009

Cranberry Half, Trail of Tears & A Mad Pheasant…

Change of Seasons…
Well its official, the sun is setting around 6:15pm, Fall is here and the road bike is now on the trainer. With a change of seasons comes a change of routine. It’s not that I dislike riding on the trainer; it’s that I miss riding on the open road. I am moving to my Winter schedule, which calls for indoor training rides during the week and Mountain Biking on the weekends as leaving work early enough to make a decent ride is now challenging.

Might as well pick up the pace…
This past week I was able to ride Otis Saturday, Trail of Tears Sunday, the trainer on Tuesday Wednesday and Saturday and Trail of Tears again Sunday. Not a bad week. 

Cranberry Half…
Saturday absolutely poured rain. I’m talking buckets. The day was a washout but I had to work so it was no loss. I was starting to think the weekend would be a total loss for out door activity but Sunday turned out beautiful. Thank god it did as Iron Chick was running the Cranberry Half Marathon with her sister. Needless to say it would have been miserable if it hadn’t cleared.  The girls did great with Iron Chick running the half in just a hair over 2 hours.

Iron Chicks

Iron Chicks

Making a new friend???
I decided to go to Trail of Tears for a long ride. The trails were still pretty damp and wet rocks and roots were like landmines in the trail. Thank god I had no issues other than running in to a a crazy pheasant.  So I just finished climbing a killer hill and stopped to take a leak when I hear rustling in the bushes behind me. When low and behold out of the under brush comes a pheasant. It starts walking around me in circles almost like it’s stalking me. I decide to secure the family jewels and head down the hill in front of me riding a bit to the cross trail ahead. There’s a great jump there so I set up the camera for a few shots.  

Air...

Air...

After gitting a few photos, I stopped to load up the camera when I spotted the pheasant again and he’s back in stalking mode. Ok this thing is freaking me out now as he begins circling me again. I decide to see if it can keep up with an S-Works Stumpjumper and in a rooster of mud I’m off. Really weird but hey, I’m an attractive guy, what can I say.

Ramp ride

Ramp ride

Rocking it...

Rocking it...

I covered about 14 miles riding over the power lines to the fast loop then back along the outer loop (very hilly) to Otis Atwood where I almost crashed ridding up on the big rock. I guess muddy wet tires and a wet board don’t make for good traction. Squaring myself away, I head back to the main trails where I work my way back to the parking lot. The stumpy and I were both covered in mud but damn that was fun!    

Trailing...

Trailing...

Ops...

I got it, no worries...

The S-Works...

The S-Works...

Leave a Reply

Categories

