Posted by: bikenfool | September 23, 2009

I’m not broke but you can see the cracks…

Feeling it…
All work and no play is finally taking its toll on me. I have been feeling like an old sack of potatoes and worse yet, I’m beginning to look like one! To top it off, I just can seem to find enough energy lately.  Granted I have been pushing myself both at work and at home but my current state just sucks.

Not broke but you can see the cracks...

Not broke but you can see the cracks...

Last the week before I had been traveling which left me tired and cranky. However, this past week I was able to road ride Monday, mountain bike Tuesday, road ride Wednesday and mountain bike Saturday.

R & R is in order….
Saturday’s ride found Tim and I mountain biking at Otis. I had just been there on Tuesday but I don’t think Tim had been there for a few months. We head out about 9:30am on a beautiful but cold morning. I have really been craving off road riding so I planned to make the most it.  However, the S-Works is having some minor issues with the forks. I can’t put my finger on it but something is not right. I had the rear shock swapped out a few months ago and now it looks like the forks may need the same. The bike still rides nice but the travel seems to be limited to 100mm and I do not think the brain is working at all. Let me clarify that I am talking about the brain in the forks and not the one in my head all though that one may need to be serviced as well.

Tim rocking it...

Tim rocking it...

Regardless the bike hauls ass and carried me over some 12+ miles of rough terrain. Trail conditions were decent but the ground still felt soft to me. I also think I had too much air in my tires as I lost traction on a few hills that I normally have no issues with. Letting out a little air seemed to help. As Tim and I headed to the Rotary, we made good time dicing and slicing through the overgrown trails.

Jamming...

Jamming...

From there, we elected to take what I call the “Outer Loop”. This section skits Otis Air Base and has a few killer rock gardens and some quad burning hills. I used to ride this loop years a ago but gave it up in favor of a more flowing one. I probably have not ridden it in a year and half. Most of my memories were of pain from the hills and rock gardens. At the time I was riding a Rocky Mountain Slayer which is really more of an aggressive trail bike or light free ride bike but at about 33lb it was heavy and at about 180lb so was I! Now I’m riding the Stumpy at about 23lb and I weigh about 162lbs, nice 30lb difference!  
 

The cool thing was almost every section that I remember being dreaded was no big deal. I made the killer rock garden hill (I never made that damn thing) and made short work of other areas that once were my nemesis. We ran into a few other riders enjoying the day as well.

Other Riders Enjoying The day...

Other Riders Enjoying The day...

All in all a great ride on a beautiful day!

Sunday Bloody Sunday…

My wife had surprised me a couple of weeks ago by securing tickets to U2 at Gillette Stadium. This would be the second time I have seen U2, the first time being a couple of years ago in Hawaii at Christmas. That was a great concert and Boston proved to be just as great.

Fidelity Area

Fidelity Area

I had never been to the new Gillette Stadium but heard that is was great venue for concerts. To make it better, we were in the Fidelity Club Area.  Snow Patrol opened and played for about an hour. We made good use of the Fidelity area which has lost of cool amenities. I mean were else can you get martinis and sushi at a stadium?

Iron chisks and Martinis...

Iron chisks and Martinis...

U2 came on at 9:00pm and played until about 11:00pm. The stage was spectacular and really an impressive use of technology. The sound was fantastic, generally crisp and clear with enough low base to rattle the rafters.

Before the show...

Before the show...

The concert was a good mix of old and new songs with a little political rhetoric thrown in for good measure. I am certainly no music critic but I find that I like U2’s older music better. It seems more powerful, raw and emotionally generated than the new stuff. Don’t get me wrong, I like most of their new music but really love their classic stuff.

Nearing the end of the show...

Nearing the end of the show...

During the U2 Concert...

During the U2 Concert...

A great way to finish a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

Categories

