Posted by: bikenfool | August 13, 2009

Tubular Tires, Chris Botti, and The Falmouth Road Race???

 Fun for all…
August weekends are great; the days are long, warm and full of family fun and this weekend was no exception. Saturday found Iron Chick and I doing a 25 miler around Cotuit. The ride was supposed to be easy as The Falmouth Road Race as the next day. I rode the Cervelo P2C for the first time since changing the tubular tire. Being that this was my first time changing a tubular tire, I was a little nervous that it would hold. I rode pretty hard certainly did not pussyfoot around any corners averaging a little over 18mph for the 25 miles. The tire held and performed great. 

Cotuit Extended Loop...

Cotuit Extended Loop...

After cycling we headed out for a little boat ride, cruising from Cotuit to Falmouth Harbor then back. It was beautiful out.

Relaxing on the boat...

Relaxing on the boat...

Jazzing it up…
Saturday evening was all about relaxing as we went to see jazz artist Chris Botti who was performing at the Melody Tent. He is a master artist and performer who’s sold nearly three million albums world wide. Botti really got his break after touring with Sting during his Jazz days. This was my third time seeing him in concert and I must say the shows are always great. Plus you can’t get a bad seat at the Melody Tent and sitting in the 9th row was like having him in my living room. The smooth powerful sound Botti’s trumpet is magical. The concert lasted about 90 minutes and was simply great!

Chris Botti

Chris Botti

 Running the Falmouth Road Race…
Ok I did not run the race but I did drop Team Iron Chick off so they could. As usual, I packed my bike so I could do some cycling around Falmouth while I waited for the finish. Riding the race course to the start in Woods Hole is so cool and it is even better when there is no traffic. The road curves by the harbor then rambles nicely along the coast, by Nobska light and WHOI, on its way to Woods Hole. I made great use of the empty roads averaging 25mph with a police motorcycle shadowing me for part of the ride. It kinda made me nervous that he didn’t pass me. I guess I was going fast enough for him not to pass me but slow enough that he didn’t give me a ticket!

Woods Hole before the race...

Woods Hole before the race...

After coming back from Woods Hole the same way I went down, I decided to take the Shining Sea Bike Path north. I had just ridden this with Tim a few weeks ago and really enjoyed it. It is about 12.5 miles out and 12.5 miles back. During my ride, I met another cyclist named Denis who was cruising on a nice Specialized Allez. Denis and I sped along at about 18mph dodging and weaving around various slower riders while conversing about watching The Tour deFrance. All in all, my ride was a little over 30 miles at an average of 18.5mph.      

Race start...

Race start...

The girls did the race at a leisurely pace finishing in about an hour with the winner finishing in just a little over 3o minutes. 10,000 runners participated in the race on this gorgeous Cape Cod day. After the race, we had a cook out with family and friends which made for a great finish to a great weekend. 

Woods Hole Befor the Race...

Team Iron Chick Stikes Again...

Leave a Reply

Categories

