Posted by: bikenfool | August 7, 2009

Dog Days of Summer…

Absence makes the heart grow fonder…
Ok it’s been a month since I have been mountain biking. The Tour De France really kept me motivated for road cycling plus I must admit I love riding with my wifey. The smooth powerful and efficient feel of road cycling is addictive besides I figure why not enjoy the warmer weather as winter will be on us before we know it.
Orbea and me...

Orbea and me...

Iron Chick and I did some hill work over the weekend riding across The Cape over to High Street in West Barnstable, then down the service road. I averaged 16.5mph with 3600 ft of elevation and a 74rpm cadence. 

High Street...

High Street...

Day of reckoning…
Unfortunately I had my first tubular flat the other day. It must have happened during one of my mid week rides as I came out to the garage Saturday to get ready for a ride and noticed it. Better in the garage than on the road I think. The unfortunate part is that the tire only has a couple hundred miles on it. This will be my first time changing a tubular. It should be interesting….

Tubular Tire...

Tubular Tire...

Hitting the trails…
Iron Chick had a a long run planned for Sunday so I elected to hit the trails with Otis being the order of the day. Damn it was fun to be out on the trails again. Cutting, carving, jumping and generally haulin ass through handle bar with trails is liberating. I had the whole place to myself and I made good use of it. On the trail out, someone set up a series of ramps on a massive bolder that are seriously cool. I am daring but not that daring, so all I did was look. I would definitely ride up it, maybe down the left side of the rock (about 8 feet almost straight down) but the ramp off the back has a little too much of a drop for me.

New ramps entrance...

New ramps entrance...

Exit ramp drop...

Exit ramp drop...

Humid, humid, humid…
Did I say it was humid? Man I was sweating like a pig, dripping actually but it felt great. Good thing the heat does not really bother me much. I made most hills with the exception of the rock garden hill. Doing the extended loop, I covered about 13 mile and 3300 feet of elevation. Although I had over inflated my tires having set them to 38lbs, the S-Works performed great  Once down to about 32lbs, rear traction became much better. 

Haulin ass...

Haulin ass...

Another great riding weekend and thousands of calories burned. With a busy week coming up, hopes of riding are looking slim. Next Sunday is The Falmouth Road Race and Team Iron Chick is participating. I of course, will be playing support, dropping the runners off then hoping to get in 25 miles or so of cycling before the girls finish. 

S-Works at rest...

S-Works at rest...


Responses

  1. Hey Steve,
    It was nice riding and talking with you on the bike trail this morn.what nice views on that ride.I’m glad you and your wife enjoyed the canal the other day, thats were I do my training every morn.@ 5:00 AM and I really love that ride, it gets a little crowed this time of year, unlike in Feb. and Mar. I think I,m the only one down there that time of year, then you start to see all the fisherman in May and then every else follows from there, I hope you guys can get down there again. Well once again it was nice meeting you, Steve and enjoyed the ride, maybe will see you on the rode again. Happy Trails, Denis God Bless.

    • Hi Denis;
      It was nice to meet you also. I must say I was glad we were riding our bikes and not running in The Falmouth Road Race! Let me know if you ever want to do a ride some time. Best Regards, Steve…


Leave a Reply

Categories

