Posted by: bikenfool | May 25, 2009

You gotta love holidays…

In the thick of it…
Memorial Day Weekend has been great. I had a nice dinner with Iron Chick Friday night. Followed by some yard work and a big pasta dinner Saturday. Then a totally relaxing Sunday. Well for me anyway. Team Iron Chick ran the Cape Cod Half Marathon while I was checking my eyelids for holes. Alicia and Jeanne did well at 2 hours 6 minutes and 1 hour 46 minutes respectably. Monday was all about mountain biking, riding about 15 miles with Frank. Three days off, well really two as I worked a lot of Saturday but it was still great! Man I miss having time off.

Iron Chicks...

Iron Chicks...

Holiday ride at TOT…
Frank got the Titus back from the shop this week getting a new chain and rear cog. We met about noon Sunday at Popple bottom to ramble around Trail of Tears. It was just a beautiful day. I really love warm weather. I am envious of anyone who lives in a favorable climate year round. Yeh, I know, you have to have the bad to appreciate the good but I never loose my love for sunny warm days. Today was no exception, Frank led as we cruised all over the place. Boy, the woods are really getting thick.

Fran haulin...

Frank haulin...

Call the fire department…
We set a respectable 9+mph average speed, smoking through the trails. We made all the hills but got hung up on a few of the large rock obstacles. The S-Works performed flawlessly eating up the rough stuff. Me, on the other hand, I had to dig deep to keep movin at that pace. I do not think I am eating enough. On the ride we did today I burned 2000 calories. I need about 1700 just to exist so I really should consume about 3700 calories. As I ride more frequently my energy reserves are feeling low. I think a diet adjustment is in order. 

Frank ...

Frank ...

The Rirual…
My post ride ritual consists of wiping off the bike using a clean towel and what looks like a paint brush. I use the brush to get into all the nooks and crannies, especially around the shock and fork seals not to mention any of the shifting mechanisms. I usually lube the chain every other ride, putting the lube on lightly then running the bike through the gears and using an old ran to get the excess lube off the chain so it does not fly on the surrounding components. Since I ride in an area that is more dusty than muddy I do not have to clean the chain that often but I have a Park Chain Cleaner for the times I do.

Bruches...

Brushes...

The stuff...

The stuff...

I have chosen to use Pedro’s Total Bike Care supplies. They offer all the products one needs to Degrease, Clean, Lubricate and Polish a bike. Including Degrease: Oranj Peelz; Clean: Green Fizz; Lubricate: GO!; Polish: Bike Lust. Great stuff especially the silicone bike polish. Very slick and keeps the bikes looking like new. Ten minutes at the trail to get the layer of dust/dirt off using the brushes and about ten minutes at home on the bike stand to finish the job with Pedro’s Bike Lust and my bike looks like new! 

Clean as a whistle...

Clean as a whistle...

A great holiday weekend…
All in all, this was a relaxing and fun holiday weekend. I am so glad that summer is here with warm weather, sunshine and long days. I most thankful that I have a a wonderful family and a wife that is my love and such an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

Categories

