Posted by: bikenfool | May 10, 2009

Whole Lot of Nothing…

Cheap Prick…
Ok, sometimes I am just a cheap prick. I’ll admit it. Certain things I just feel I can do myself. Take yard work for instance. Each year I insist on edging and mulching my yard. This is no easy task as my yard is quite large. Yet each year I put my body through the excruciating pain of these tasks, having forgotten how much I hate doing it. This past weekend history repeated it self. I really beat the crap out of myself. All this punishment kept me from riding. Well actually the rain kept me from riding. All the effort pays off as my yard always looks great!
Spring has sprung...

Spring has sprung...

Epic Rides…
So the S-Works has been down for a few weeks with a bum rear shock so I have been riding the Epic Marathon. This bike is super fun and certainly fast. I must admit that I have not ridden it since I got the S-Works. Not because I don’t like it but because the S-Works is so good.

Epip Rides

Epip Rides

My usual trails are made up of the 3 R’s; rocks, roots & ruts. Where the Epic great, the S-Works is outstanding, allowing me to cover rough ground faster and in better control.  However, the Epic did very well on the usual trails; I made most hills and rocks, albeit avoiding a few large rocks as I was worried about hitting the crank. Hills that really are no issue took a little more effort to make on the Epic. Body position and traction play a big roll. Don’t get me wrong the Epic feels powerful and efficient and really is a blast to ride, so much so that I have to remember to take it out more often. So far, I have been out three times with the Epic over the last two weeks and enjoyed it immensely.

As an added bonus I have been able to get out a few times on the Cervelo. Temps have been good but there has been lots of wind. I mean lots. 30-40 mph seems to be the norm. Non the less it has been fun to hit the road.  

Cervelo

Cervelo

Back In Business…
The S-works is finally back from the shop this week and I got to take it out on Trail of Tears today. Damn I love this bike. I had a great ride to day, really enjoying the bike, the weather and the area. Sunny and 70 set the tone for a creating a new loop. I have been entering off of Popple Bottom Road recently so I made a decent 12 mile loop.

TOT New Loop

TOT New Loop

The bike performed great and the replacement rear shock was dialed in after twenty minutes. I really feel at home on the S-Works when it comes to hills. My body position is great, traction is great and I am generating good power. No issue with hills today as the bike just feels comfortable. Actually, the traction was great as well. I am running about 37psi front and 40psi rear and was amazed at how the bike was like Spiderman on some hills that I really thought I would not make.

TOT New Loop

TOT New Loop

TOT New Loop

TOT New Loop

As summer is coming, the trails are starting to turn green and grow in. The days are longer and rides after work are now possible. What could be better?

Leave a Reply

Categories

