Posted by: bikenfool | April 15, 2009

What Month Is It?

Feels more like February than April…
This was Easter weekend with Saturday proving to be a washout. The temps were raw and a strong wind, not much hopes for riding outside. I joined Iron Chick in the basement to put some miles on the Cycle Ops Trainer. She was doing 56 miles so I only hung with here for about an hour. Even though it was inside it felt good to get some exercise.

Stuck Inside...

Stuck Inside...

Getting out side…
Sunday seemed to be starting out better but still lots of wind and clouds. I figured I go to Trail of Tears since I have been favoring Otis. It was still cold as I unloaded in the parking lot as a couple of other riders were coming back. After getting a trail update, I was off for some fun.

The trails were surprisingly dry given the amount of rain we had yesterday. I decided to mix up the route, ridding allover the place. Taking the base route to the far side of the power lines, then riding about half of the fast loop before shooting off to a section that skirts the shooting range. The trail then crosses the power lines again and runs along a ridge for a while eventually crossing 149 to the Otis Atwood area by the golf course. Crossing back over 149, I made my way back to the parking lot. All in All, the route took me for about 12 miles. 

Today, I played around with the suspension setting on the SW Stumpy. Slightly softening the rear brain and giving the shock 5 clicks of rebound. For the front fork I used 3 clicks of rebound. This made a big difference over roots and rooks as the suspension really soaked it all up nicely. I also increased the tire pressure to 42 for the back and 40 for the front. These changes all made for a great ride. 

Up the rock...

Up the rock...

Jumpin jack flash...

Jumpin jack flash...

Drive by shooting...

Drive by shooting...

Leave a Reply

Categories

