Posted by: bikenfool | April 6, 2009

Oh Yeh…

Life is good…
It’s Sunday afternoon, from the rocking chair on my front porch, the warmth of the sun feels good, dam good. It’s tingling my skin, I imagine this is what a rechargeable battery feels like in it cradle. A warm breeze blows across my face as I watch the sun twinkling on the distant water (I can only see this because the leaves are not on the trees).  The lawn is green, actually, I think it’s getting greener as I stare at it. O.A.R. is playing on the I-Pod. I am watching seagulls circling in the pale blue sky above. All this while my butt cheeks ach, my quads throb and my shoulders twinge. Yeh, it’s been a good biking weekend.

Days End...

Days End...

Iron Chick went to Jersey for a surprise 40th birthday party for her good friend Wendy.  Actually, she helped plan the party and has been stressing over it for a few weeks so she was excited the the weekend had finally come. Wendy may have turned 40 but you’d never know it. She is a hardcore athlete and my hats off to her for being an inspiration to slackers like me. Here’s a picture of her with Iron chick’s Cervelo from the NY Marathon last November. Forty my ass, she pretty hot huh?

Wendy & Iron Chick's Cervelo

Wendy & Iron Chick's Cervelo

Not quite as planned…
Saturday’s weather wasn’t perfect being windy with lots of fast moving grey clouds but the temps were warmer. It’s amazing how different low 40’s feel compared to low 50’s. Tim and I had planned on riding Vietnam that day but the previous three days of rain and a mixed forecast for the afternoon scrubbed that mission. 

So figured I would be a roadie today. Setting out around town, the roads were rough with lots of potholes and sand. The roads were oddly absent of much traffic so I got into a good groove, except for the 30+ mile an hour wind gusts, ug, it was great to be outside. As I live by the water, the wind definitely made it harder, slowing me down for a lot of the trip. I rode all over Cotuit and a little of Mashpee covering about 25 miles with an average of about 18mph. Sure did feel great. Saturday night found me having dinner with a couple of friends from work. A great meal and a few drinks later I was happily comatose.

Cervelo P2c ready for take off

Cervelo P2c ready for take off

Sunday is a day of rest?
Not. With blue skies and temps in the 60’s, Tim and I headed over to Otis to cut up some new trails. Last week’s ride was great and we wanted to expand on the new routes. It still amazes me that very few people were riding. We only passed three other riders on such a beautiful day. The S-Works Stumpy rode awesome soaking up bumps and obstacle as I carved my way through the woods like a hot knife through budda. We added part of a new trail to the original loop It outlines a valley, having lots of ups and downs with a couple of good climbs. On the back end, we thought we would go back through Heavens Gate but we ended up finding another great set of obstacles and some great views. Pretty cool. We rode for about two and half hours and were pretty spent by the time we got back home. Hence the achy butt cheeks, throbbing quads and twinging shoulders.

Ah yes, it’s good to be The Biknfool.

Movin...

Movin...

Cool Bridge...

Cool Bridge...

Catchin Tim...

Catchin Tim...

Follow the leader...

Follow the leader...

Relaxing in the sun...

Relaxing in the sun...

Leave a Reply

Categories

