Posted by: bikenfool | March 30, 2009

Getting Back In The Groove

Bikenfool or should I say Slackinfool?
March has been kind of a weird month for me. First, work has been stressful and I have been out of the office a lot. Traveling to Utah, New Hampshire and various other places has really thrown my routine. To make it worse, I had fought the flu before I left for Utah and fought a sinus infection when I got back. Ug! So my workout schedule has been totally disrupted. It doesn’t help that Iron Chick has been training like crazy and her endurance is really improving, she is really putting me to shame. I am sure she will do even better for her next Half Iron Man in June.

Cool...

Cool...

Turning over a new leaf…
Now that the days are longer and slowly warming up, I have got to get back to a regular riding routine. I did my first road ride of the season the day after I got back from Utah as the temp as in the low 60’s and boy, it felt great. I am always letting work consume my personal time, so I really have to focus on getting out and making riding a priority.

Back to normal?
It was Saturday morning, 8:00am when I dragged my sorry ass out of bed. Nine hours of sleep was not enough to get me caught up. Pulling the drapes back, I was greeted by an overcast sky; I rub my eyes as things look hazy. Nope, not my eyes this time, it’s only a little fog. Tim is coming by around 10:00am and our plan is go exploring round Otis.

The temperature was in the high forties and the clouds were breaking up as we loaded up the Jeep. The ground is generally dry but still a little “soft” for my liking. The last couple of rides at Otis have been great with us meeting lots of other riders from all over. However, this time when we pulled up, there was only one other car parked at the trail head?

Me...

Me...

Today, Tim had a goal of riding some of the large boulders that can be intimidating and oh yes, dangerous if misjudged. We decided to simply go out and explore areas we have not ridden before. Our plan was to start on the usual route then take one of the first turn off the trail and see what happens from there. At the beginning of our route there is a great boulder to ride on. Heading out, it has a steep entry making the transition from the ground to the rock a hard hit under speed. The exit is a nice wood ramp taking you back to the ground from about 10 feet up. Tim made short work of the climbing the boulder and suddenly everything looked smaller to him!

Tim...

Tim...

Tim masters the rocks

Tim masters the rocks

Tim...

Tim...

Miscellaneous ramblings…
Tim and I spent about three hours riding everywhere, covering lots of trails we’ve never ridden before. The cool thing is most tails came out to an area that I knew. We found some pretty cool spots to play including a couple of monster rock gardens and an area know as “Heavens Gate”. Wow, these spots were amazing, with lots of obstacles and boulders to ride over. I think I can find a way to tie some of the new trails to my favorite route. Life is good…

Heavens Gate...

Heavens Gate...

Heavens gate...

Heavens gate...

Leave a Reply

Categories

