Posted by: bikenfool | February 22, 2009

Under/Over…

Under (the weather)…
I ended up over doing it a little last week. First, two killer rides; one Saturday and one Sunday. Second, two Spinervals sessions during the week- ug.  Third, not enough sleep, averaging only 6 hours a night was just not enough. Lastly, one hell of a tough week at work which had me working one night until after 11 pm. All these factors led me to feel like I had the flue coming on. You know the feeling, achy in places that shouldn’t ache, hot/cold and no energy. That’s how I woke up Saturday morning.   

Turn you head and cough...

Turn your head and cough...

Suck it up Marine…
I had planned a ride at Otis with Tim but after waking up feeling like like @#$%, I actually thought about dropping out. It wasn’t until Iron Chick called me a “Candy Ass” that changed my mind. Reminding me that she would be running the Cape Cod Half Marathon Sunday and it would probably be raining for 13.3 miles! With my tail between my legs, I popped two aspirin,packed the trusty Jeep and headed out.

Doc says to take a ride and call him in the morning...

Doc says to take a ride and call him in the morning...

Arriving at Otis, we found lots of other riders looking to enjoy the day.  We started out at a moderate pace. The aspirin had kicked in so I wasn’t as achy.  During our ride we ran into to Bill & Pete, two guys who drove down from the north shore to enjoy a day of riding. Both guys had real nice Free Ride bikes and were looking to do some “Hucking”.  They were certaily more daring than Tim and I…

Pete

Pete

Bob

Bill

Doing the impossible…
Hey, I ride some rocks but Bill will ride over any thing. Absolutely amazing. Thank god for bash guards. By the way, the pictures don’t do that rock justice as to how big and steep it really is. You could barley walk up it with out falling. I remember the first time I saw it, I wondered if anyone attempted to ride it. Well I got my answer. Helmets off to Bill. You know, he made it look easy. Here’s some shots: 

Gotta be 15+ feet up...

Gotta be 15+ feet up...

Up...

Up...

and over...

and over...

Follow the leader...

Follow the leader...

Pete...

Pete...

Over (joyed I went)…
All in all I felt the ride was great. Even though I felt low on energy I still had fun and made two Friends in the process.  This Sunday will be a day of rest, at least for me as Iron Chick is off to the Half Marathon. A little over a week unit Paul and I fly to Utah and test our skills on Moab. Did I say I love this stuff?

Check out this video.

Responses

  1. It was nice riding with you guys on Saturday. Thanks for showing us around. The name is Bill not Bob, btw 🙂

    Cheers!

    • Hi Bill-
      Mybad!
      Sorry, I have fixed the refferences and Bob is – “No More”.
      Must have been the drugs.
      Let me know next time you coming down.
      Riding Moab next week, wish me luck…


Leave a Reply

Categories

