Posted by: bikenfool | February 18, 2009

Another Great Weekend…

Prologue…

Frank had tried to coordinate a ride during the week but we just couldn’t seem to swing it, so he ended up going by himself on the day before we had rain. Here is an excerpt from his accounting of his ride:

“The single track was 1/3rd mile solid ice followed by 1/3rd mile wet trails. The fire roads were either soft or full ice and some of them had streams running down them. I tried to stay on the side on the dry leaves but it felt like I had 7psi of pressure in my tires. I have new tires on my bike and I was actually surprised because it felt like I had really good traction. Braking on the ice can be dangerous, though. It took me 45 minutes to clean my bike. Lot’s of ghost shifting due to the soggy mess in my RD.”

Muddy Mess...

Muddy Mess...

Not wanting to let Frank have all the fun, Tim and I planned to make the most out of the weekend if we could. So with most of the snow gone and the weekend weather looking great, it was all about the riding…

Round One, Trail Of Tears:
Tim and I agreed to meet at Trail of Tears on Saturday morning at 11:00am. Hoping not to find the muddy mess Frank described, we were pleasantly surprised to encounter generally dry conditions with the ground still slightly frozen from the night before. The parking area was surprisingly empty for such a great day.

We elected to ride two loops, The Fast Loop and the Outer Rims. This would give us about two hours + of riding time and cover about 14 miles. Tim had the honor of donning the GoPro Hero Camera for awhile, strapping it on this bike using one of the many clamps designed to facilitate great angles. We had a blast, stopping here and there to play around on obstacles.

Me Rockin...

Me Rockin...

Follow-the-leader...

Follow-the-leader...

All in all, a great day. We rode until we were exhausted and both agreed there was no better way to have spent the day! Burning over 1800 calories for the ride, I felt no guilt over chowing on a great Valentines Day Dinner.

Here is a video of our antics:

Round Two, Otis:
Sunday was another spectacular day. Getting a slow start after recovering from a great meal the night before, I made my way to Otis to enjoy more trail riding. Less wind made the temperature feel warmer than Saturday. The sun shone brightly through my filthy windshield as I tried to find a place to park at the trail entrance off route 151. Holy shit , I’m gonna have to park at Bally Meade I thought. Now faced with what looked like the mall parking lot at Christmas time, I squeezed the trusty Jeep into a spot.

Otis is simply a blast to ride. I had so much fun, it should be illegal. The trail conditions were pretty much perfect. I swear at one point the air temp actually felt warm! When I started, a group of about 10 riders were heading out but I elected to go solo to enjoy my usual route. Traffic on the trails was light. For some reason most riders were going the the opposite direction from me?

Bar View...

Bar View...

Ridin the rocks...

Ridin the rocks...

At one point, I stopped to let another rider who was heading in the other direction go by, when he caught his derailleur on some under brush and destroyed it. I felt terrible.  We tried to micky rig it to get him back rolling again. Eventually we freed it up enough to rotate the wheel and we bid each other farewell. I think it was a tough ride back for him.

In the last leg of my ride, I met a guy from Dover New Hampshire that had driven down for the day to “See Dirt” as he put it. He had been out with the group I saw earlier. They got tired and call it a day but he said “Hell, I tired too but no way am I passing up doing some more riding. I gave him directions to run the 3/4 mile rock garden and we were both off.

So all in all, three hours after I started the ride, I finished grinning from ear to ear. I met three people, all out enjoying the day (well maybe not the guy with the derailleur issue). What a great way to end a great weekend.

Ug2...

Ug2...

All the way from Dover, N.H.

All the way from Dover, N.H.

Out for a three hour ride as well...

Out for a three hour ride as well...

Here is a parting video, did I say I love this?

Leave a Reply

Categories

