Posted by: bikenfool | December 27, 2008

The Best Christmas Gift Ever…

Ask and you shall receive…
So, not two days ago, I sat looking at a seemingly endless expanse of white. Temps in the twenties and no hopes of seeing the ground. Then low and behold I woke up Christmas morning to my still green lawn. Poof, the snow was gone. Wow, temps were in the low 40’s. It’s a Christmas Miracle! Amazing how writing one letter to Santa really works. In hind-sight, I probably should have asked for something a bit more profound like “World Peace” but I’ll take no snow, 40’s and sun as my xmas gift!

Out and about…
The day after Christmas was sunny and 40, so I packed the Jeep with the S-Works and headed to Trail of Tears for my fix. I am like a junkie on friday looking for a dealer as the Jeep makes a b-line for the nearest trail. On my way, I passed Frank’s house and he was out mulling around the garage. I stopped to say hi and see if he was interested in riding. Too short a notice but, he did say he went out on Christmas day and it was great. Giddy as a school girl, I bid him farwell as we promised we would ride next weekend at Yarmouth. 

TOT Map

TOT Map

I entered from Popple Bottom parking lot, electing to spend the afternoon rambling all over. No land speed records today, just simple exploring. There were lots of cars parked as other bikers, hikers and “Gulp” hunters were out. Yes I said hunters. as I rode I passed a couple of guys that looked like Emer Fud’s brothers with shot guns and all. Kinda scary as I am not sure if middle aged mountain bikers are “In Season”. 

Trying not to get shot...

Trying not to get shot...

Smooth sailing…
The trails were not as wet as I thought they would be. Small patches of snow were still present on low lying areas but no issues in general. The trail surfaces were generally firm but lots of branches, limbs and trees were strune about. Stopping now and again to move items or lift my bike over what I could not jump or move. The sun shown brightly through the trees as I passed other bikers, hikers and even a few trail runners.  My ride took me on a great course over the power lines and back. Then along a few sections of twisty, hilly single track that was a blast to ride.

They should call it a "Treejumper"

They should call it a "Treejumper"

They should call it a "Treejumper"

They should call it a "Treejumper"

The S-Works is simply amazing to to ride. The bike is so lite and easy to throw around. I have the suspension dialed in pretty good, making the rocky terrain very palatable at speed. Specialized equipped the bike with 2.0 Captain tires that work well for my trail conditions. Given the weather conditions, I had very little traction issues. The trails give endless obstacles to launch off or over and on the twisty smooth sections the bike settles in to a nice smooth rhythm. Totally cool.

Lots of fun...

Lots of fun...

Hard to keep the front down...

Hard to keep the front down...

Totally greatful…
I have been using Hill Training Videos on the basement trainer for the last couple of weeks. These seem to have paid off as the hill climbs felt reasonably easy. Overall, my endurance was super. Spending about an hour and a half cruising all over, I gave the S-Works a good workout. Not too bad of a work out for me either as the Gamin registered just shy of 1600 calories burned. Arriving back at the parking area I met up with KB, another mountain biker returning from his ride. KB rides a sweet Cannondale and was out enjoying this bonus day as well. As we both laughed about what a difference a day makes we were totally gratefully for the wild swings in New England weather.

Trail head...

Trail head...

On the road...

On the road...

Pictures, thanks to the “GoPro” helmet cam…

Leave a Reply

Categories

